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TITLE 172  PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE  
 
CHAPTER 67  LICENSURE OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS 

 
 
67-001  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY:  These regulations govern the licensure of funeral directors 
and embalmers under the Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice Act and the Uniform 
Credentialing Act.  Persons providing funeral directing and embalming services to clients located 
in Nebraska must be licensed as a funeral director and embalmer in Nebraska unless they are 
exempt under the Act. 
 
 
67-002 DEFINITIONS:  For purposes of these regulations, definitions in the Uniform Credentialing 
Act and the Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice Act and the following definitions are hereby 
adopted. 
 
Attest or attestation means that the individual declares that all statements on the application are 
true and complete.  
 
Complete application means an application that contains all of the information requested on the 
application, with attestation to its truth and completeness, and that is submitted with the required 
fees and all required documentation. 
 
Licensure in another jurisdiction means holding a credential that authorizes the individual to 
engage in the profession of funeral directing and embalming which would otherwise be unlawful, 
from the District of Columbia or any state, territory, or possession of the United States of America, 
or any province of Canada. 
 
Military service means full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, a National 
Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a 
commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric 
Administration.  Military service may also include any period during which a servicemember is 
absent from duty on account of sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause.  (From the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. App. 501 et seq., as it existed on January 1, 2007.)  
 
Served in the regular armed forces has the same meaning as “military service” in these 
regulations.  
 
 

  



EFFECTIVE NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF  172 NAC 67 
APRIL 11, 2015 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
 

2 

67-003  INITIAL AND RECIPROCITY LICENSE:  To receive a license, an individual must submit 
a complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following: 
 

67-003.01  Age and Good Character:  Be at least 19 years old and of good character;  
 

67-003.02  Citizenship/Lawful Presence:  Be a citizen of the United States, an alien 
lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible 
for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act;  
 
67-003.03  General Education: Have earned the equivalent of 60 semester hours of 
college credit, which includes: 

a. 6 semester hours of English; 
b. 6 semester hours of accounting; 
c. 8 semester hours of chemistry; 
d. 12 semester hours of biological science relating to the human  body; and  
e. 6 semester hours of psychology or counseling; 

 
 Reciprocity:  For reciprocity an applicant must have the following: 
 

1. Education/Practice: Earned the equivalent of 60 semester hours of 
college credit and either coursework as listed in 172 NAC 67-003.03 
or practice as follows: 

 
a. At least 5 years of practice as a licensed or certified Funeral 

Director and Embalmer in another state.  A year of 
apprenticeship does not constitute licensure or certification 
in this case.  It must be 5 years of practice beyond the year 
of apprenticeship; and 

 
2. Continuing Education:  Completed at least 16 hours of funeral 

directing and embalming continuing education within the previous 
24 months immediately prior to application; 

 
67-003.04  Mortuary Science Education:  Have completed a full course of instruction in an 
accredited school of mortuary science. Hours earned in a school of mortuary science as 
part of the mortuary program may not be used for the 60 semester hours; 

 
67-003.05 Apprenticeship:  Have completed a 12-month apprenticeship under the 
supervision of a licensed Funeral Director and Embalmer practicing in the State of 
Nebraska. The apprenticeship must: 

 
a. Be registered with the Department prior to the start date; 
b. Be completed in one of the following ways: 

 
(1) 6 months split as specified in 172 NAC 67-004.01 or 
(2) Full 12 months; and 
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c.      Consist of arterially embalming 25 bodies and assisting with 25 funerals. 
 

Reciprocity:  Have completed 1 year of funeral directing and embalming practice 
following licensure/certification in another jurisdiction is deemed equivalent to a 
12-month apprenticeship. 

 
67-003.06 Examination: Have successfully passed the national standardized examination 
developed and administered by The International Conference of Funeral Service 
Examining Boards, the Nebraska jurisprudence examination and Nebraska vital statistic 
forms examination with a score of 75% or above on each examination.   

   
67-003.07  Denied or Withdrawn Applications 

 
67-003.07A  Denied Applications:  An applicant for a funeral directing and 
embalming license whose application is denied by the Department will be allowed 
the return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the 
Department.  Any examination fee will not be returned. 

 
67-003.07B  Withdrawn Applications:  An applicant for a funeral directing and 
embalming license may request to withdraw the application.  A request to withdraw 
an application will be granted: 

 
1. When the application is incomplete; or 
2. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business 

days of the receipt of a completed application. 
 

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the 
return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the 
Department. 

 
 
67-004  APPRENTICE LICENSE:  Individuals applying for an initial license as a Funeral Director 
and Embalmer must complete an apprenticeship under the supervision of a licensed Funeral 
Director and Embalmer practicing in the State of Nebraska.  Apprenticeships must be served in 
the State of Nebraska in a licensed Funeral Establishment and the first 25 funeral assists and 25 
embalmings must be completed under direct onsite supervision of the supervising funeral director 
and embalmer.   
 
Applicants may complete the 12 months apprenticeship in either a split apprenticeship or a full 
apprenticeship. Before beginning an apprenticeship, an individual must apply and be approved 
by the Department for apprentice licensure.  
 
 67-004.01  Types of Apprenticeship: 

 
1. 12-Month Full Apprenticeship. An applicant may serve a 12-month full 

apprenticeship by serving over a continuous 12-month period following the 
successful completion of a full course of study in an accredited school of mortuary 
science and the successful passage of the licensing examination. Licensure will 
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be for 12 months from the date of issuance, must be completed over a continuous 
12-month period and will not be extended by the Board. 
 

2. 12-month Split Apprenticeship.  An applicant may serve a 12-month split 
apprenticeship by serving 6 months prior to attending a school of mortuary science 
and serving the remaining 6 months after graduation from a school of mortuary 
science.   Licensure will be for 6 months from the date of issuance, must be 
completed over a continuous 6-month period and will not be extended by the 
Board. 

 
67-004.02  License:  To receive an apprentice license, an individual must submit a 
complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following: 

 
67-004.02A  Age and Good Character:  Be at least 19 years old and of good 
character;  

 
67-004.02B  Citizenship/Lawful Presence:  Be a citizen of the United States, an 
alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under 
the Uniform Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United 
States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act;  

 
67-004.02C  General Education:  Have completed at least 39 of the 60 semester 
hours of college credit, as specified in 172 NAC 67-003.03; 
 
67-004.02D  Mortuary Science Education and Examination: If requesting a 12-
Month apprenticeship or the final 6-month apprenticeship: 

 
1. Have completed a full course of instruction in an accredited school 

of mortuary science; and 
2. Have successfully completed the licensing examination. 

 
Items 1 and 2 above do not apply when requesting the first 6-Months of a split 
apprenticeship; and 

 
67-004.02EF  Supervisor:  Have a supervisor who is licensed and practicing as a 
funeral director and embalmer in Nebraska. 

 
67-004.03  Change in Supervisor:  An individual who changes his/her supervisor or adds 
a new supervisor must submit a complete application to the Department within 30 days 
following the change. A complete application includes all required documentation and a 
written application. 

 

67-004.04  Denied or Withdrawn Applications 
 

1. Denied Applications:  An applicant for an apprentice license whose 
application is denied by the Department will be allowed the return of his/her 
fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the Department.   
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2. Withdrawn Applications:  An applicant for apprentice license may request 
to withdraw the application.  A request to withdraw an application will be 
granted: 

 
a. When the application is incomplete; or 
b. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business 

days of the receipt of a completed application. 
 

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be 
allowed the return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be 
retained by the Department. 

 
 

67-005   EXAMINATIONS 
 

67-005.01  Jurisprudence and Vital Statistics Forms Examination: 
 

67-005.01A  Eligibility:  To be eligible to take the jurisprudence examination and 
vital statistics forms examination, an applicant must:  
 

1. Have received written notification from the Department approving a 
12-month apprenticeship license; or 

2. Have received written notification from the Department approving a 
final 6-month apprenticeship license; or 

3. Meet the requirements for licensing by reciprocity as specified in 
172 NAC 67-003.   

 
67-005.01B  Examination Registration:  To register for the jurisprudence 
examination and vital statistics forms examination, the applicant must submit a 
complete application to the Department. 

 
67-005.01C  Special Accommodations:  If special accommodations are requested, 
such request may be submitted on a form provided by the Department.   If the 
applicant has a learning disability, a psychological disability, or hidden disability 
that requires an accommodation in testing, an originally signed and dated 
document must be submitted from an appropriate professional (education 
professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist) verifying the applicant’s disabling 
condition which requires special accommodations. 

 
 
67-006  RENEWAL:  An individual who wants to renew his/her license to practice as a funeral 
director, embalmer or funeral director and embalmer must, prior to the expiration date, file an 
application for renewal, pay the fee, and demonstrate compliance with continuing education 
requirements. 
 

67-006.01  Continuing Education:  On or before February 1st of each even-numbered 
year, each Funeral Director, Embalmer or Funeral Director and Embalmer holding an 
active license in the State of Nebraska must: 
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1. Complete at least 16 hours of acceptable continuing education hours 

during the preceding 24-month period.  A licensee may carry-over up to 4 
hours earned beyond the 16 hours for the next renewal period.   

 
2. Take the Nebraska Jurisprudence Examination at least 1 time every 10 

years. 
 

67-006.01A Continuing Education Hour/Credit Calculations. The following 
provides the hour/credit calculations: 

    
   1. Academic Credit:   All 16 hours of continuing education hours per a 

biennial renewal period may be obtained through academic credit; 
hours are calculated as follows: 

 
a. 1 semester hour of academic credit equals 15 

continuing education hours; and 
b. 1 quarter hour of academic credit equals 10 

continuing education hours; 
 
2. Home Study/Internet/Other Electronic Means:   A maximum of 8 

hours of continuing education hours per a biennial renewal period 
may be obtained through home study programs. 

 

3. Continuing Education Workshops:  All 16 hours of continuing 
education hours per a biennial renewal period may be obtained 
through continuing education workshops, lectures, or interactive 
satellite/web workshops.  60 minutes of participation equals 1 
continuing education hour. Credit will not be awarded for breaks 
and meals. 

   
4. Jurisprudence Examination:  4 hours of continuing education hours 

will be granted for licensees receiving a score of 75% or above on 
the jurisprudence examination. A licensee must take the 
jurisprudence examination at least 1 time every 10 years. 

 
5. Tours:  A maximum of 2 hours of continuing education credit per a 

biennial renewal period may be obtained through a funeral directing 
and embalming related tour. Conducting a tour of the licensee’s 
facility does not constitute continuing education.  60 minutes of tour 
participation equals 1 continuing education credit. 

 
6. Exhibits/Displays:  A maximum of 2 hours of continuing education 

hours per a biennial renewal period may be obtained through a 
funeral directing and embalming related exhibit/display.  If a 
continuing education workshop provides an exhibit or display area, 
a licensee may earn 1 continuing education credit per workshop for 
viewing the exhibits/displays. 
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7. District/State/National Association Meetings: A maximum of 8 hours 

of continuing education hours per a biennial renewal period may be 
obtained through attendance at a District, State, or National 
Association Business Meeting. 60 minutes of participation 
constitutes 1 continuing education credit. Only 1 hour may be 
obtained per meeting. 

  
   67-006.01B  Acceptable Continuing Education Topic Areas:  The Board does not 

approve continuing education programs/activities.  In order for a continuing 
education activity/program to be accepted for renewal or reinstatement of a 
license, the activity must include one or a combination of the following topic areas: 

 
1. Communication/Media; 
2. Counseling/Arbitration; 
3. Customer relations; 
4. Disaster training; 
5. Embalming practice; 
6. Funeral directing practice; 
7. Management (stress/personnel/business); 
8. Marketing/advertising; 
9. Personal development; or 
10. Pre-need. 

 

67-006.01C Continuing Education Workshop/Program Criteria: To be considered 
acceptable for continuing education, a workshop/program must meet the following 
criteria:  

 
1. Be at least 60 minutes in duration; 
2. Objectives must relate to the topic areas defined in 172 NAC 67-

006.01B; 
3. Presenters of programs must be qualified by education, experience 

or training; 
4. Must be open to all Funeral Directors and Embalmers licensed by 

Nebraska who meet the pre-requisites for the program; and  
5. The provider must have a process for verifying attendance and 

issue a certificate of attendance.  Each certificate must include the 
following:  
 a. Program name; 

b. Name of the participant and his or her license 
number; 

 c. Provider's name; 
 d. Date the program began and ended; and  
 e. Number of hours received by the licensee. 

 

67-006.01D  Criteria for a Home Study Program/Internet/Other Electronic Means:  
To be considered acceptable, a home study program must meet the following 
criteria: 
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   1. Objectives must relate to the topic areas defined in 172 NAC 67-

006.01B;  
   2. Author(s) of home study programs must meet the following 

qualifications: 
    a. Have experience in the content and subject matter; 
    b. Have expertise in teaching and instructional methods suitable 

to subject presented; and 
    c. Have suitable academic qualifications, certification 

credentials, and/or experience for subject presented; and 
3. Must be a post-test or other method of assessment which verifies 

that the licensee completed the program.  
 

67-006.02  Waivers of Continuing Education: 
 

67-006.02A  Military Service 
 

1. Licensees actively engaged in military service are not required to 
pay the renewal fee.   

2. The Department may waive continuing competency requirements if 
a licensee has served in the regular armed forces of the U.S. during 
part of the credentialing period immediately preceding the renewal 
date. 

 
67-006.02B  First Licensed:  The Department waives continuing education 
requirements for individuals who were first credentialed within the 24-month period 
immediately preceding the renewal date.  
 
67-006.02C  Medical:  The Department may waive continuing education for 
individuals who have had a serious or disabling illness or physical disability which 
prevented completion of the required number of continuing education hours during 
the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date.   
 

67-006.03  Inactive Status:  When an individual wants to have his/her license placed on 
inactive status, s/he must notify the Department in writing.  There is no fee to have a 
license placed on inactive status and continuing education is not required. 

 
 
67-007  DISCIPLINARY ACTION 
 

67-007.01  Grounds for Discipline:  A funeral directing, embalming or funeral directing and 
embalming license may be denied, refused renewal, or have other disciplinary measures 
taken against it for grounds specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-178, 38-1423 and 38-1424 
or for unprofessional conduct. 
 
67-007.02  Unprofessional Conduct:  Unprofessional conduct means any departure from 
or failure to conform to the standards of acceptable and prevailing practice of funeral 
directing and embalming or the ethics of the profession, regardless of whether a person, 
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patient, or entity is injured, but does not include a single act of ordinary negligence.  
Unprofessional conduct also means conduct that is likely to deceive or defraud the public 
or is detrimental to the public interest.  Unprofessional conduct includes but is not limited 
to the acts set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-179 and the following: 
 

1. Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a 
licensing or discipline investigation by the Department; 

 
 
67-008  REINSTATEMENT:  This section applies to individuals previously licensed in Nebraska 
who seek the authority to return to practice in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska license.  Individuals 
may apply for reinstatement as follows: 

 
1. An individual whose license has expired, been placed on inactive status, voluntarily 

surrendered for an indefinite period of time, or suspended or limited for disciplinary 
reasons, may apply for reinstatement at any time. 

2. An individual whose license has been voluntarily surrendered for a definite period 
of time may apply for reinstatement after that period of time has elapsed. 

3. An individual whose license has been revoked may apply for reinstatement only 
after a period of two years has elapsed from the date of revocation. 

4. An individual whose license has been permanently voluntarily surrendered is not 
eligible for reinstatement and may not reapply for a new credential of the same 
license type. 

 
The voluntary surrender of a license may be unrelated to disciplinary matters, or may be done to 
resolve a pending disciplinary matter, in lieu of disciplinary action, or in response to a notice of 
disciplinary action. 
 
 
67-009  FEES:  Fees referred to in these regulations are set out in 172 NAC 2, unless otherwise 
specified. 
 
 


